Oakland County OWI Attorneys
Obtaining Successful Results from Offices in Birmingham & Oak Park
Getting arrested for operating while intoxicated (OWI) in Michigan can be a stressful, frightening, and confusing situation, especially if it is your first offense. A conviction can not only lead to the suspension of your driver’s license, costly fines, and a long jail sentence, but also a permanent criminal record that can potentially ruin your personal life and professional reputation.
If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving, Fraiberg & Pernie can help you obtain the most favorable results in your case. With more than 35 years of combined legal experience, our Oakland County OWI attorneys can guide you through the complexities of the criminal justice system while protecting your rights and future.
If you are facing OWI charges in Oakland County, call our defense lawyers at Fraiberg & Pernie, PLLC to discuss your defense options during your free consultation.
Michigan OWI Convictions & Penalties
In Michigan, operating while intoxicated (OWI) is defined as operating with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more, 0.04% or more in a commercial vehicle, and 0.02% or more when the driver is younger than 21 years of age. On the other hand, operating while visibly impaired (OWVI) means driving a motor vehicle and being visibly affected by alcohol or drugs. The penalties depend on the nature of the offense and the defendant’s drunk driving history.
A first-time OWI conviction (misdemeanor) is punishable by the following penalties:
- A maximum 93-day jail sentence
- Up to 36 hours of community services
- Fines of up to $500
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 30 days and a restricted license
However, if a driver’s High BAC was at least .17 percent—more than double the legal limit—a first High BAC offense carries a jail sentence of up to 180 days, a maximum $700 fine, and driver’s license suspension for up to one year.
First-Time OWVI Penalties in Michigan
A first-time OWVI conviction results in the same jail sentence and community service hours as a first OWI offense, but with OWVI, a drivers license is only restricted for 90 days, (unless drugs are involved) and fines are worth up to $300.
Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Today
Remember, just because you have been arrested, doesn’t mean that you are guilty. With a former prosecutor and former police officer on our legal team, our clients are given a unique insight into Michigan law, as well as effective and personalized legal solutions to either reduce the charges they face or get their entire case dismissed. We are ready to fight for you from start to finish.
Contact us today at (248) 440-7936 to discuss your case. Our defense lawyers at Fraiberg & Pernie, PLLC have the experience needed to help you secure your future.