Underage DUI/OWI

Over Three Decades of Fighting For Your Freedom


Bloomfield Township Underage OWI Lawyers

Defending Your Child's Future in Michigan

If your child or loved one is facing an underage DUI charge, you probably have a lot of questions. In addition to being worried about their future, you probably are also unsure of where to turn for help. An experienced DUI lawyer familiar with how underage DUIs are charged in Michigan can help you throughout the process and bring you the peace of mind that comes from knowing someone is on your side, fighting for your child.

In addition to over  35 years of experience as  criminal defense lawyers Attorney Fraiberg  is a former prosecutor, and  Attorney Pernie  is a former police officer. We can put this knowledge and experience to work for you and your family.

To  schedule a free consultation  with one of our underage DUI attorneys in Birmingham and Oak Park, call 248-986-2682 . Our lawyers at Fraiberg & Pernie, PLLC can protect your child's future.

Understanding Underage DUI Charges

In Michigan, DUIs are commonly referred to as  operating while intoxicated (OWI)  or operating while visibly impaired (OWVI). When someone is over 21, the legal drinking age), an OWI charge will be based on whether or not your blood alcohol content is over the legal limit of 0.08%, and an OWVI charge will be based on whether or not drugs or alcohol visibly impair your ability to operate a motor vehicle.

What many people aren’t aware of is that if you are under 21 years old, Michigan has a zero-tolerance policy. If you are under 21, the legal limit for your blood alcohol content is 0.02%, significantly lower than the BAC limit for a driver over 21. In fact, underage drivers can be charged with an OWI in Michigan if there is any trace of alcohol in their system whatsoever.

Penalties for an underage DUI in Michigan include:

  • Steep fines
  • Incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension
  • Increased insurance rates
  • Mandatory community service
  • Vehicle immobilization 

First-Time Underage Oakland County Lawyers

A first underage DUI offense is generally charged as a misdemeanor, and penalties will typically include fines and community service. However, subsequent offenses, and/or the presence of children under the age of 16 can dramatically increase the penalties associated with a conviction.

We Are Fierce Advocates of Underage Drivers

Attorneys Fraiberg and Pernie know how devastating a DUI conviction can be for a young driver, and we believe it is essential to protect the future of young drivers. For over three decades we have provided residents in Oakland County with aggressive yet compassionate legal representation, and we know how underage DUIs are prosecuted in Michigan. At larger firms, it can be challenging to feel heard and when your child's future is on the line, you need responsive, dedicated legal counsel.

At Fraiberg & Pernie, we are always available for clients; when you have a question, your attorney is there for you. We have two convenient offices in Birmingham and Oak Park, and in addition to free consultations, we also offer reasonable rates.

To work with an Oakland County underage DUI lawyer who puts your child’s best interest first, call  248-986-2682 or  contact us online .

Put Experience On Your Side

Available 24/7 to Handle All Your Needs

Offering Free Consultations

When You Call, You Reach An Attorney

Over 35 Years of Combined Experience

Former Prosecutor and Former Police Officer On Your Side

Glowing Reputation & Excellent Track Records

  • Write your caption her

  • Slide title

    Write your caption here
  • Slide title

    Write your caption here
Share by: