Second OWI Offense in Oakland County
Get Experienced Legal Counsel From Our DUI Defense Attorneys
A first-time DUI/OWI in Michigan carries harsh penalties such as fines, driver’s license suspension, and jail time. Since the court assumes you learned your lesson after the first offense, a second offense is associated with more severe consequences.
If you have been arrested for a second OWI in Oakland County, our legal team at Fraiberg & Pernie understands what it takes to reduce your charges or get your case dismissed altogether. We can investigate your case, gather evidence, find weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, and obtain the best possible outcome in your case.
What are the Penalties for a Second OWI & OWVI in Michigan?
A conviction for a second OWI or OWVI is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year, a maximum fine of $1,000, or a possible driver’s license revocation. Under some circumstances, a person may be qualified for a restricted driver’s license (with the use of an ignition interlock device) once he/she serves 45 days of license revocation.
If an underage driver (under 21 years of age) is convicted of a second Zero Tolerance law offense, he/he faces a jail sentence of up to 90 days, up to 60 days of community service, and expensive fines. Other consequences of a second OWI offense include an increase in auto, health, and life insurance premiums.
Call (248) 440-7936 to Request a Free Case Review Today
With more than three decades of legal experience, our Oakland County OWI lawyers understand what it takes to fight back against life-altering penalties. We have an excellent track record of success when it comes to OWI cases in Michigan, which makes us qualified to protect your rights, reputation, and freedom from start to finish.
For more information about a second OWI, contact us today.